Wednesday, July 30, 2008

The time is near...

First I hear that Cheech and Chong are back...less then 5 minutes later I click on CNN's homepage and find out that they're discussing legalizing marijuanna and will only bann it for excessive use. To sum it up it wont be legal but they're thinking about not penalizing responsible smokers. I was watching the video of Rep. Barney Frank and he feels that the government shouldn't try and dictate what responsible Americans are doing during their leisure time...it's like he took the words out of my mouth. As of now Its legal in 12 states for medical use...atleast there are some people in the government thinking about it...

(CNN) -- The U.S. should stop arresting responsible marijuana users, Rep. Barney Frank said Wednesday, announcing a proposal to end federal penalties for Americans carrying fewer than 100 grams, almost a quarter-pound, of the substance.

Current laws targeting marijuana users place undue burdens on law enforcement resources, punish ill Americans whose doctors have prescribed the substance and unfairly affect African-Americans, said Frank, flanked by legislators and representatives from advocacy groups.

"The vast amount of human activity ought to be none of the government's business," Frank said during a Capitol Hill news conference. "I don't think it is the government's business to tell you how to spend your leisure time."

The Massachusetts Democrat and his supporters emphasized that only the use -- and not the abuse -- of marijuana would be decriminalized if the resolution passes. Watch Frank lay out the proposal »

No comments: